About Me · Dreams · Editing · Indie · Publishing · Writing

Update on Writing Progress

Morning, everyone!

I thought I’d give you all an update of what’s going on in my little writing world. Jumping right in, I’ll tell you that my tentative deadline is coming up at the end of August. I will be finishing up the fourth edit of my novel manuscript today and starting the fifth sometime this weekend or Monday. I am finding less and less to fix each time (which is ideal) and I am upping the amount of pages I edit a day with each subsequent editing session. Things are moving along. I am about 3/4 of the way through Zoe Winter’s bookSmart Self-Publishing: Becoming an Indie Author. GREAT book. You should all check it out if you are thinking about publishing independently.

As well, I’m about 70,000 words into the sequel to the novel I’m currently prepping for publishing. Last year, I wrote four manuscripts. This year, I’m not even done with my first, but I’ve been focusing so much on editing the first novel I wrote last year that it was hard to get more writing done. However, I have confidence that I can finish one manuscript, publish a novel, and at least get half-way through another manuscript by the end of 2012.

Things are getting really exciting in my writing life. I am going to achieve a life-long dream by the time fall rolls around (or at least by winter!), and I will hopefully be successful enough to keep pursuing my dreams full-time. It has been an exciting ride. My advice to anyone who is dreaming of becoming a published author and work full-time on their writing is this: make it a priority. Make sure you communicate fully just how important your writing is to your family, friends, and yourself. Start with an hour a day. Seriously, just sit down and write an hour a day and you’d be surprised how much work you can accomplish. Once you’ve got your hour down, start making a word-count goal for that hour. Once you’ve got that down, keep it going! Read about the craft, try different styles and exercises to strengthen your skills! Practice editing your own work to learn how to think objectively about your own writing. Dare to dream! But, also dare to make goals of your dreams. Typically, dreams remain in the clouds unless you put feet to them and bring them to earth as goals.

Get going! What are you waiting for? You can do it!

Working on anything exciting? I’d love to hear about your current writing escapades and goals!

Thanks for stopping by,

 

L.M.

Leave a Reply

