About Me · Desk Adornment · Writing

Desk Adornment: The Lucky Cat

I thought it might be fun to have a feature on my blog about what a crazy writer might keep on her desk. My desk (not the one pictured above) is fairly shallow and I have filled it quite full with work items, computer parts, and random figurines//pictures//flotsam + jetsam. In this week’s Desk Adornment post, I am showcasing my austere and regal Lucky Cat! The figurine in the picture above is my actual Lucky Cat. It used to rest on the desk at my day job, but now it rests proudly atop my computer tower.

Lucky Cats (maneki-neko // 招き猫 in Japanese) are sometimes referred to as “Welcoming Cats” or “Beckoning Cats”. This is because they wave at you. They are considered to be good luck in Japan. I’d go into greater detail, but you have just as much access to Wikipedia and other sites as I do. 😉 I find him to be terribly cute. Also, the fact that he gets the energy to wave from his nifty solar panel is super cool.

I was given this fun solar powered figurine from a teacher I worked with at one of my former day-jobs. She was a very special lady and I always remember the time I spent working with her when I look at the Lucky Cat on my computer. 🙂

You can (MAYBE) expect a Desk Adornment feature post every week. I think it is fun and we writers gotta pay homage to all the random trinkets we keep around to inspire our creativity and luck!

What sorts of items do you keep on your desk to cheer you up or make you happy?

Thanks for stopping by!

 

~L.M.

4 thoughts on “Desk Adornment: The Lucky Cat

  1. For YEARS, I had a couple of tiny little boxes of Wonka Nerds on my monitor at work. I never actually ate the candy, I was just amused by them. One of my co-workers one day asked if she could try some. I kind of looked at her funny. I later found one of the little boxes had been opened — so I guess she couldn’t resist.

    After that I tried them. They were quite stale. Nasty.

Leave a Reply

