About Me · Reading

My Top Ten Fantasy Books

Alrighty! As it has probably become apparent, I am a huge fantasy//sci-fi nerd. Today, I decided to do my top ten favorite fantasy books that I have hoarded away in my house. πŸ™‚

1) Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier

2) The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

3) The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien (yes I know it could technically be three books–or six if you’re really picky– don’t judge!)

4) Dragon Sword and Wind Child by Noriko Ogiwara

5) Into the Land of the Unicorns by Bruce Coville

6) Sabriel by Garth Nix

7) The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

8) Thief of Time by Terry Pratchett

9) Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

10) Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

These books are classified as “favorites”. If you’re wanting to know my absolute favorite of them all, it’sΒ Daughter of the Forest. I ADORE that book. As some of you may know, Juliet Marillier is my favorite author of ALL time. I WILL own every single one of her books one day. I have all of her Sevenwaters books so far. I haven’t read many of her other series books yet, but I definitely will. I also purchase all of her books in paper//hardback formats. I love ebooks on my Kindle, but for Marillier, I splurge on the physical copies. πŸ™‚

What are your top ten fantasy books? I’d love to hear! Don’t squeeze in any sci-fi in there. I am going to do a separate list for Sci-fi. πŸ˜‰

Thanks for stopping by! Share your top ten in the comments section!

~L.M.

P.S.—It bugs me that the books are not in the same order in the list as in the picture, but it would bother me more for their sizes to be all wonky and stuck in odd places. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “My Top Ten Fantasy Books

  1. Your list is just amazing! And I love that you’re celebrating fantasy novels, I always feel slightly embarrassed by how much I adore them.

    Top ten is hard, but I can try for top three. So..
    1. His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
    2. The Eight – Katherine Neville
    3. The Lumatere Chronicles – Melina Marchetta

    Looking forward to reading the rest of your writing here! xx

    1. Thanks for sharing, Aoife! I’ve only heard of Philip Pullman’s books in your list! I’ll have to check out the other two!

      Yeah, I LOOOOOOOVE Fantasy and Science Fiction novels. They are my absolute favorites. It’s no wonder my own novels are a blend of fantasy and science fiction. πŸ™‚

  2. I just discovered Juliet Marillier only 4 weeks ago!! I cannot believe I have made it to my 30s without knowing about her amazing books. Reading ‘Daughter of the Forest’ was like falling in love – so beautiful and evocative I wanted to re-read it straight away (and go out and hug a few trees) πŸ™‚ I haven’t read that much fantasy yet so always happy to find recommendations. Thanks for sharing your list! I’m a big fan of the ‘Outlander series’ by Diana Gabaldon (but this isn’t 100% pure fantasy I guess). Donaldson’s ‘Mordant’s Need’ and the Narnia series are my other all-time favourites.

Leave a Reply

